UK military dog survives ‘explosive’ scare

“Toby is recovering well after getting treatment for eating a dodgy substance in Afghanistan.”-ITN News

One Response to “UK military dog survives ‘explosive’ scare”

  1. K-9 Heroes, A Veteran by barbara snow
    k9mwds@att.net
    How many more names would be on that Wall?
    Were it not for you – you heeded our country’s call
    You served and you bled thru all our war years
    Many of you died with only a handler’s tears
    Your duties are many, you scent and you track
    Your eyes tell me always, “I’ve got your back”
    You rescue and save lives and when that’s in vain
    You recover to bring closure to a family’s pain
    You outsmart our enemies – it’s you that they fear
    You warn me when mines and explosives are near
    You guard our beaches and borders and our Commander-in-Chief
    Words “Stop, or I’ll release my dog” mean it’s over for a thief

    Your eyes burned in Oklahoma City, your paws felt the flame
    You brought me a small shoe – I moaned. “Oh God, No,” in pain
    You comforted me for a moment; you nudged me on too
    You knew we weren’t finished; we had more to do
    You pull me to safety; you bring me a medic’s care
    I open my eyes and know that you’re there
    You have honor and spirit and feel our country’s pride
    Sometimes in the night, only you knew I cried
    I wish you had time to just run and play
    Catch a Frisbee and swim – for a dog, a good day
    But you are a Trooper, to duty you must
    My life before yours – you give me that trust

    No matter how clever an arsonist’s M. O.
    Your nose tell investigators what they need to know
    Some call you Coastie, you get “Semper Fi’’
    The chute makes you perk – you love when we fly
    As an Officer and Deputy, it’s crime that you fight
    You wear the badge of the elite – “Guardians of the Night”
    The love of a mascot knows no race, class or ranks
    Privates, Admirals, Generals all give you their thanks
    When you outlive me and Taps reaches your ears
    You stand there with honor among bagpipes and tears

    When your bones become old and you no longer serve
    It’s medical care in retirement you earned and deserve.
    Congress could pass a law to resolve this need
    For all serving and in memory, for them I now plead
    We must call you ‘Veteran’ for you are one too
    No honor for me, if there is none for you
    Till death do us part, this mantra rings true
    They gave and give all for the Red White and Blue.

    Celebrate with honor our ‘dogs of war’ K9 Veterans Day March 13, 2012
    http://www.uswardogs.org – Southern Chapter P.O. Box 10 Bronson, FL 32621

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

