“Dog’s don’t understand death”

I want to bring you guys good video clips. This one is a good news report with interviews of military working dog trainers. Something they mention is that soldiers may have some trepidation on any given patrol or mission. As the trainer in the video puts it “dog’s don’t understand death” and are just out there to work and do their duty.  

 

One Response to ““Dog’s don’t understand death””

  1. I had the good fortune to serve with the Dog Tracking Team on the DMZ in Korea, in 1968-69. I wasn’t part of the tracking team, I was the Medic on TDY from 2nd Medical Battalion. It was during the Winter of ’68, and I’ll never forget it, being from Florida. I was duty Medic one night, when the O.D. woke me up at 4:30 a.m. to take a wounded Korean down to my unit (2nd Med). I asked him what time it was, and what the temperature was. It was 68 below zero!!!! The year, 1968, and the coldest I have EVER been in my life, 68 below. I will never forget it.

    I was telling my wife about that, and tried to find something about the guys on the internet… that’s when I found this site. Do you have any idea how I can find some info about that team.

    Korean DMZ, 1968. The leader of the team was the coolest dude you would ever want to meet… a big Black guy named Biggs. He & I would consume a great number of Budwiesers and pickled pigs feet from time to time, and again, being from Florida, I’ll never forget that either! I’ve never had another pigs foot either. Nasty!

    I appreciate any help you can lend. I would like to contact any of the guys that were in that unit. We had a good time, despite where we were.

    Thank you,

    David Menges
    Tombstone, Az
    david@localsbackyard.com
    702-280-4552

Leave a Reply

